Mees Disqualified!

April 27, 2018

American Flat Track has just announced that is has disqualified Jared Mees from the recent Atlanta Short Track race, a race he won. They say...


'Following an American Flat Track post-event tire sampling from the Atlanta Short Track held April 8, 2018 at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, Ga., AFT Twins competitor Jared Mees on the #1 machine has been disqualified for using a chemically altered tire.


'Four tire samples from four different machines were taken after the Main Event in Atlanta, and all were submitted to an independent lab for chemical analysis. Three of the samples were deemed to be in compliance with the benchmark sample provided by Dunlop. The sample from the #1 machine ridden by Jared Mees was not in compliance, however, and indicated the presence of several chemicals known to be used in motorsports to alter tire compounds.'


Mees has been accused of tyre doping before, but not punished for it. It's hard to see it as anything more than a bump in the for the relentless Mees on his march to another title.


The accusation is chemicals are used to treat the spec Dunlop tyres to offer more grip. Mees is on probation for 12 months. Not exactly sure what happens if he gets caught doing anything else. 


The disqualification means Kenny Coolbeth gets the Atlanta win, and prize money, the Sideburn-sponsored Jeffrey Carver is awared second and Jarod Vanderkooi scored a podium on the Harley-Davidson XG750R, only the second ever podium for the liquid-cooled 750, after Jake Johnson's 2017 Buffalo Chip TT third place.





It shakes up the standings, of course. They are now:

  1. Kenny Coolbeth, Jr.              36 points

  2. Henry Wiles                          32 points                     

  3. Brad Baker                            27 points

  4. Jared Mees                           25 points

  5. Jeffrey Carver, Jr.                 24 points

  6. Briar Bauman                       24 points

  7. Jake Johnson                       24 points

  8. Bryan Smith                          22 points

  9. JD Beach                              20 points

  10. Jarod Vanderkooi                 20 points

  11. Kayl Kolkman                       16 points

  12. Sammy Halbert                    16 points

  13. Johnny Lewis                       15 points

  14. Brandon Robinson               13 points

  15. Davis Fisher                         12 points

  16. Robert Pearson                   11 points

  17. Danny Eslick                         7 points

  18. Mikey Rush                           5 points

  19. Chad Cose                            5 points

  20. Jay Maloney                          4 points

  21. Wyatt Anderson                    3 points

  22. Bronson Bauman                  2 points













The next round is Texas Half-Mile tomorrow, the round that Jeffrey Carver won on his XR750 last year. 








Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload


December 10, 2019

December 10, 2019

December 8, 2019

December 5, 2019

December 5, 2019

December 5, 2019

Please reload


World Scoop: The 2018 H-D Factory Team + EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEWS

January 25, 2018

Please reload